Approaching the end

So here I am, in the final days of my travels. When the number of days until I return home almost equals the number of months I’ve already been away.

Upon hearing how close I am to the end of such an epic trip, fellow travellers inevitably follow up with the same question: “so, how do you feel about going home?”.

It’s a question I haven’t yet figured out the answer to. I brush it off with a vague “oh, you know, excited, but I wish I could stay here (wherever “here” is) a bit longer”. Which is true – I am looking forward to being home. Or, to be more precise, I’m looking forward to being back in my home. It’s strange, but one of the things I’ve missed most while away is my house. My sunny backyard, my veggie patch and the chooks. Riding my bike through the quiet Northcote streets. Cooking dinner for friends and housemates, drinking wine on my front porch. So yes, I’m looking forward to going ‘home’.

On the other hand, I don’t feel finished with this trip. My three months working in Thailand was like pushing the re-set button; 12 days is a ridiculously short ‘holiday’ to finish on, it should be more like another six months. After being on the road for nine months, 12 days seems like nothing, like it will pass in the blink of an eye. It is barely enough time to find a quiet beach or out of the way mountain village and start to settle in to holiday vibe.

Yet 12 days is all I have left, as I’m beckoned home by my increasingly negative bank balance and a welcome, much needed job tutoring at Uni during semester 1.

So, a ‘holiday’ it is. I’m writing this from a cafe in Ubud, Bali, where I had planned to pass some days relaxing with a view over rice paddies, doing yoga, exploring the beautiful landscape around. Yet, as is my style, I’ve decided to change my plans and move on, to the Gili islands for some sun, beach, and yes, maybe even some yoga. Sounds like a nice holiday to me. And although this trip may be drawing to a close, as I commented on a recent facebook status, “a traveller’s journey never ends”. I get the feeling that this “get it out of my system” trip has done just the opposite. But, until my next adventure, I plan to make the most of the precious days I have left.

**Edit** I’m posting this from magical Gili Air – I’ve found my paradise

IMG_8508

4 thoughts on “Approaching the end

    1. msmuppet Post author

      Everyone I know who had been there loved it too – I *really* didn’t. I may have just missed something, but I couldn’t get out of there fast enough.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

